The Final Prizes!

I’m so happy to tell you about the final set of  prizes up for grabs at the Saturday Crafting Session. Two of the Sew It Together participants, Donna and Susie, are donating some fibre craft prizes towards the stash.

Both from Brisbane, these two met at an obscure RSL club as part of a Ravelry crochet meetup.  Apart from the organisers, they were the only other two that turned up.  They soon realised that they had young boys the same age and an immediate friendship began.

Donna blogs at creative controller and Susie is Yarnplanner.

Here are the prizes!

Knitting Needle roll with 15 pairs of bamboo needles:

Crochet Hook roll with 8 bamboo hooks:

Two sock knitting kits with project bags, and hand dyed yarn (by Susie) one has 4 sets of DPNs and the other has 4 sets of circular knitting needles:

Gosh, girls, you are so clever! Don’t these prizes look amazing?

I would have no idea what to do with any of them. But it’s enough to make me want to conquer my crochet fear just to roll up my hooks like that. Those round things in the sock kits look like excellent toys for a 17 month old to strangle herself with, don’t they?

I know that these will go to a really good home and they will be very much appreciated. Whoever gets the sock kits….you must show us your socks when finished! I want to see!

Thank you so very much, Susie and Donna! These prizes are fantastic!

———-

If you read my blog, then you know all about Donna at creative controller – one half of the super clever duo above. I started my blog nearly 3.5 years ago so I could show her I was better at sewing what I was making since she so rudely moved 1000km away from me. Just when I got used to having her around.

One day I will forgive her.

In fact, maybe that day will be this week when she travels 1700km south to help me out with this crazy idea that was Sew It Together.

Anyway, more importantly, Donna is starting a new business soon under her alter ego of Craft Junk.  She will be selling bamboo crochet hooks and knitting needles –  straights, circulars and DPNs.  There will be kits for specific projects like socks, whole sets, and kits for the beginner with some good quality Australian wool.

In addition to the prizes above, Donna is giving everyone either a pair of needles or a bamboo hook!

Gee, I love the look of the bamboo. Maybe this will be my answer to my crocheting woes!

Donna’s etsy store (craftjunk.etsy.com) will open on 24 May when she returns from holidays and more information about her new venture can be found at Craft Junk (www.craftjunk.squarespace.com.)

Thanks so much, Donna, for such a generous gift to everyone. I wish you all the very best with your new business. I am sure it will be a great success!

16 Responses to “The Final Prizes!”

  1. Toni Says:

    What lovely prizes and a very generous giveaway. I’ll certainly be looking at Donna’s etsy store once it opens!

  2. Kelly Says:

    Gorgeous prizes! I love the fabric choices.

    Only 3 more sleeps until the Friday shopping trip and 4 more sleeps to SIT. I’m sooooo excited! 🙂

  3. Carmel Says:

    Wow! They are awesome prizes!

  4. thornberry Says:

    Donna and Susie, WOW! Those are absolutely brilliant prizes. And Donna, congratulations on your new business! That’s superb. I am SO looking forward to meeting all of your out-of-state girls in real life (and a little nervous)

  5. Kate Says:

    They look brilliant! Just wanted to let all you Saturday crafting gals know that if knitting or crochet is not your thing, then I would absolutely LOVE one of these gorgeous hooks. I’ll be at the dinner on Saturday night and I will be wearing a cool fox badge.

  6. sweet emmelie Says:

    truly gorgeous!! OMG not long now, so so excited!

  7. Craft Junk « creative controller Says:

    […] Sheridan did a post about some prizes that Susie and I are donating to the SIT prize […]

  8. Gypsy Says:

    Wow those are some awesome and generous prizes girls, thank you!

  9. corrie Says:

    gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!! so generous and I’ll be customer when you’re back home again

    corrie:)

  10. Tanya Holt Says:

    you girls are great! thanks for the gorgeous prizes x

  11. Cass Ward Says:

    Now I just need someone to teach me to crochet again

  12. Susie Says:

    Just come and sit next to me Cass!

  13. pinkfishbluefish Says:

    Wow, how cool are those prizes? I so want to learn to knit or crochet, I’m really excited about the bamboo hooks and needles! Thanks Donna & Susie! (love the auntie cookie applique!)

  14. Cathy Says:

    Oh my lands – another stunning prize. The chances of sleeping these handful of nights until SIT slips further away…

Leave a comment