Crap Stuff

Over the last couple of days it has been brought to my attention that there are two other events scheduled for Saturday 26th March, 2011 that unfortunately will have an impact on the Saturday Crafting Session.

I will assure you now that the date for Sew It Together will not change. Unfortunately we are just going to have to work around these problems, although I am afraid that many of our favourite bloggers will not be able to attend as a result. I’m so sorry for that.

Firstly, it seems that Saturday 26th March will be the date for the NSW State Election. This will not affect our interstate visitors, but it will require our NSW bloggers to vote at some point on the Saturday. It appears that you cannot send in a postal vote beforehand, since you will still be in NSW, and you will surely be within 8km of a polling place in the CBD. As soon as the polling places are identified, I will find one very close to the Menzies, and so, as you duck out to visit Tessuti, you might also have to go and vote.

Secondly, it seems that Mathilda’s Market have now set their dates for 2011, and they have chosen Saturday 26 March for a market at Paddington. Lots of our bloggers who have craft businesses rely on Mathilda’s for their livelihood, and I am devastated to think of how many of you who have signed up to come to Sew It Together will now have to pull out. I can assure you that I did check Mathilda’s for their dates before I finally confirmed with The Menzies for the date, but Mathilda’s hadn’t finalised their dates, and I took a chance. Poop.

I will not be changing the date for SIT. Lots of you have made travel bookings and I just won’t do it, as much as we will miss those of you who need to pull out. Please let me know ASAP if you’re pulling out due to Mathilda’s and I will refund your deposit (less Paypal fees). I am happy to talk to you separately about coming to the dinner on Saturday night if you wish. I know I said no exceptions, but I think that these are extraordinary circumstances.

I’m sorry everyone. I try to think of all potential problems, but I can’t get around plain bad luck!

15 Responses to “Crap Stuff”

  1. Lily Mulholland Says:

    Well I’m grumpy on your behalf!! Bugger, bugger, bugger! We will still make it fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. corrie Says:

    hi there,

    yes I paid and booked for mathildas before I realised the clash but i do need to shift some fabric at mathildas. But I don’ t mind too much, there are plenty of activities going on over that weekend and for me it means I’ll actually come to the dinner and a few other things that I wasn’t going to!

    you’re doing a great job and you couldn’t have seen that one coming! Now I hope the elections don’t keep people away from mathilda’s !

    don’t sweat it and no don’t change the date for a few of us!
    Corrie;)

  3. Kelly Says:

    Oh Sheridan, that really sucks!

    What a shame that Mathildas is scheduled for that day – poop!!! No chance they’d reschedule – maybe not because of SIT, but the election might prompt them???

    I hope some of those that would’ve come to the crafting day, do come to dinner.

    As Lily said, we’ll still make it fun, but the Sydney bloggers attending Mathildas will be missed!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Big hugs for you Sheridan, I know this must hit hard!!!

  4. Cass Says:

    I’m surprised Mathildas booked that as i would have thought that space would be used for an election polling booth and also I would think that might impact on their numbers.

  5. trash Says:

    Bugger Sheridan! What a shame. Good on you for sticking to your guns though.

  6. notquitecrafty Says:

    What a shame! And I agree the Mathildas exception is definitely beyond the norm.

    The election should have minimal impact though….and maybe maybe Mathildas might change their date.

    You are doing a great job – I am getting really excited, but very very scared as my crafting abilities are so far below all the amazing people who are coming!!

  7. andi Says:

    sheridan, you are still a complete legend!!!

  8. amy (badskirt) Says:

    sorry Sheridan. It’s not something that you could have avoided. And there are so many handmade markets these days, it would be very hard not to conflict with at least one of them. I think everyone appreciates how how you work to plan this.

  9. Michelle Says:

    I’m so sorry there are date clashes! But these things do happen – I actually have two other things on that weekend, but I’m sticking to the SIT! One of those things is my wedding anniversary …whoops!

    Hopefully you don’t lose too many people for the Saturday session!

  10. Cass Says:

    Not sure if they do it for state elections but I know for federal there are usually polling places you can actually vote at before the day. Usually larger centers but I know I voted at chatswood once just to avoid the election day crowds so might be worthwhile for Sydney people to check

  11. Belinda Says:

    Bummer on the election & matildas front.
    But wow…there is so much great stuff happening at SIT!! I hadn’t caught up with it until today. Super job Sheridan! BTW I hope you are having a lovely holiday ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Helen Says:

    Sheridan! thank you for not changing the dates!!! bummer about the clashes but with so much on i’d say it would have been near impossible to find a weekend with nothing on. Your doing a great job Sheridan! can’t wait till March! x

  13. thornberry Says:

    Thanks for not changing the date – I’d booked flights/accom already – but what a pain! Sheridan, you do an astounding job with arranging this and don’t fret. THat’s just the way the cookie crumbles.

Leave a Reply

